Latest Feature

Latest FeatureOur First Society Made Film!

Thomas Keates – Director and First Historian of Everton Football Club
A film made by Everton FC Heritage Society on the life of Thomas Keates – an early director of the club, but also the first historian of Everton FC.
Written and present by Jamie Yates / Filmed and edited by Lewis Royden / Produced and directed by Mike Royden

Latest Posts

Dr John Rowlands (1939-2022)
An obituary by Rob Sawyer of the sad passing of one of the longest serving members of EFCHS.

Queen’s Head Hotel Archaeological Excavations – Ken Rogers

The Queen’s Head Hotel has become part of Everton folklore regarding the events that took place within its walls and the decisions made that laid down the foundation of Everton Football Club. This historic venue is where St Domingo’s Football Club became Everton Football Club in November 1879, and in 2015 a site was uncovered for the first time in almost half-a-century.

Ken Rogers, former Sports Editor of the Liverpool Echo, and member of Everton FC Heritage Society, was determined to discover more more about the site, and to see if an excavation could be organised to reveal more of the history of the Queen’s Head Hotel.

In Search of Priory Road 1883-84 – Mike Royden

Looking for the precise site of the Priory Road pitch where Everton FC played for a season before they moved to their new ground at Anfield. Illustrated throughout.