Queen’s Head Hotel Archaeological Excavations – Ken Rogers
The Queen’s Head Hotel has become part of Everton folklore regarding the events that took place within its walls and the decisions made that laid down the foundation of Everton Football Club. This historic venue is where St Domingo’s Football Club became Everton Football Club in November 1879, and in 2015 a site was uncovered for the first time in almost half-a-century.
Ken Rogers, former Sports Editor of the Liverpool Echo, and member of Everton FC Heritage Society, was determined to discover more more about the site, and to see if an excavation could be organised to reveal more of the history of the Queen’s Head Hotel.
A Classic Everton ‘Who-Dunn-it’– by Jamie Yates
An example of the great content by EFCHS members on our revamped website is this item by Jamie Yates. It’s about a man passing himself off as the Toffees’ former star forward Jimmy Dunn.
In Search of Priory Road 1883-84 – Mike Royden
Looking for the precise site of the Priory Road pitch where Everton FC played for a season before they moved to their new ground at Anfield. Illustrated throughout.